Friday, September 24, 2010

New L-R Freshmen President Elected!

Congratulations to the New L-R 
Freshmen President 
Marcus Byrd!

Communication Intern Assist Alumna With Festival

Senior, Amy Saatzer recently had the opportunity to assist with the 1st Annual Dirty Dancing Festival at Lake Lure. Through her communication internship with the The McConnell Group Public Relations, Inc., Amy was able to work with L-R Alumnus, Michelle McConnell Yelton in the planning, marketing and implementation of the event.

Make sure to check out the upcoming October issue of the Lenoir-Rhynean for a full feature story highlighting Amy's learning adventure! 
Various vendors display during event
Main performance stage
Gala Tent at Fire Fly Cove

Monday, September 20, 2010


Submitted By Aaron Bradley Scott
Nation's Oldest Student Legislature comes to Hickory
The North Carolina Student Legislature is the oldest active student legislature in the United States. Founded in 1937, the body has come together each month in the academic calendar to express ideas about legislative topics. It has been reported that 40% of all Student Legislature ideas have been recorded into law. In many regards, those coming together at Lenoir-Rhyne University on September 25-26th are the future leaders of our state; Famous alumni include Governor Jim B. Hunt, Jr., Governor James Holshouser, Senator Robert Morgan, and Charlotte Mayor Eddie Knox, to name a few. The body resembles the North Carolina General Assembly, as they hold interim councils once a month at participating universities and colleges around the state of North Carolina. In April, they meet in Raleigh to hold session in the General Assembly buildings and meeting rooms to present matters in a formal setting.
Aaron Bradley Scott
The Lenoir-Rhyne University delegation was selected to host this year's opening ceremonies after an active performance in last year's academic calendar. Last year's delegation at Lenoir-Rhyne produced eight pieces of legislature including a 17-page bill about North Carolina Energy Modernization. 

"This program is what created my love for legislative debate," says Delegation Chairperson Aaron Bradley Scott. Scott, a resident of Connelly Springs, ran for North Carolina House of Representatives in Burke and McDowell Counties and lost by 160 votes in the May Democratic Primary. Lenoir-Rhyne University offers the Student Legislature as an elective credit for Political Science majors, but it is officially a club on the university's campus. "We don't just have Political Science majors, we have Education, Economics, Philosophy majors, and more," Vice-Delegation Chairperson Spencer Voelkert explains. Voelkert, a native of Alamance County, started participating in the Student Legislature after a few stints of representing in the Model U.N. program on campus. So far, Lenoir-Rhyne has 14 current students participating in this year's North Carolina Student Legislature.

According to the faculty advisor, Dr. Joseph Mancos, “it is the largest I have seen in many, many years.” Last year, Lenoir-Rhyne was recognized for many accomplishments within the state-wide program where Dr. Joseph Mancos won Faculty Advisor of the Year, Lenoir-Rhyne won Best Small School Delegation, and Aaron Bradley Scott won Best Speaker and Best Resolution on separate occasions.

Dr. Joe Mancos
Presently, Lenoir-Rhyne's delegation is holding a fundraiser of selling coupon books that can be used at local restaurants and other attractions in the Hickory Metro area for $20. The money raised will help pay membership dues or other expenses that occur while traveling to Interim Councils across the state of North Carolina. If you are interested in purchasing a book or finding out more about the North Carolina Student Legislature at Lenoir-Rhyne, email Delegation Chairperson Aaron Bradley Scott for details at

The opening Interim Council at Lenoir-Rhyne University is September 25th at 9:00am in the McCrorie Center. September 26th the event will be moved to the Rhyne Building.